BPA March Madness Rules Clarifications
Rules Clarifications for the BPA March Madness PBeM Tournament
12.4) What happens to cards removed by a "Withdrawn Strategy
A.) They are returned to the player's hand.
12.4) What happens when time runs out and some positions remain to be
A.) The remaining positions are resolved from 1 to 6 skipping previously resolved positions.
12.7) Can a "Coaching Move" negate an opponent's
"Timeout" reroll of a scoring resolution?
A.) No. The scoring resolution, including all rerolls must be completed before the Player whose turn it is may take a "Coaching Move".
12.8) If both players have a Timeout available and the potential need
to use it, which player has to declare if he/she is using their Timeout first.
A.) The resolving player must declare if he/she is using their Timeout first.
12.9) What is the penalty for an "F" shooter who gets into
foul trouble since he cannot lose a letter grade?
A.) The player he is guarding is eligible for a +1 die roll modifier.
12.9) If an Offensive Specialist is played on a Position that
previously had a foul, does the loss of a letter grade affect the Offensive
A.) Yes. You substitute the Offensive Specialist (Bench) rating, and then you drop that a letter grade for the foul. Because you are already 'thin' at that position (due to foul trouble), the dropping of the Letter Grade is to simulate the specialist playing less aggressively to avoid fouls.
12.9) If the Offensive Specialist is played, what happens to my AA
A.) The AA opponent gets a +1 drm in lieu of the letter upgrade.
12.9.1) What is the penalty for an "F" shooter who fouls out
since he cannot lose a letter grade?
A.) The player he is guarding is eligible for a +1 die roll modifier (plus his bench loses a letter grade). In other words, there is no additional penalty since the "F" shooter cannot lose a letter grade.
12.9.1) If a Position on which an Offensive Specialist is played Fouls
Out, what is the effect?
A.) The Position is considered to have Fouled Out, dropping the rating to the lesser of the current rating of the Bench or the original Position rating minus one letter grade. The Bench rating also drops by one letter grade, and the opponent's Position gets a +1 modifier on the resolution.
13) How many coaching moves do you get in overtime? Where is the
A.) Take the original coaching rating minus all technical fouls on the coach and divide the result by two, rounding up. Clock is set at 5 minutes.
14.1) "Box and One" card states it can be used once per
half. If I have two of these cards, may I use each card once per half?
A.) No. The Box and One effects can only be employed once per half, no matter how many such cards you have.
14.1) "Box and One" card states it can be used once per
half. Is the card considered “used” if it is played but then withdrawn
before the Position it affects is resolved?
A.) Yes. The Box and One card is considered “used” as soon as it is played on the board.
14.1.2) Zone Defense can remove one foul per half. Can you wait until the last position is resolved for the half and then choose a position to remove a foul from?
A.) If you haven't already used it earlier in that half, you can wait until the end of the half to remove the foul with the Zone Defense.
14.1.2) Can the Zone Defense be used after a player has fouled out to go back to only having one foul?
A.) What the Zone Defense does is to remove a Foul; it does NOT retroactively remove a Foul Out, which is by definition more serious. Once Fouled Out, you're done for the game. A Foul is different than a Foul Out, from a basketball perspective.
14.1.4 & 14.2.5) The Box
and One coaching card says that it voids all Offense cards, while the Clutch
Free Throws Offense card says that it is never voided. Which holds true
when both affect the same position?
A.) The Clutch Free Throws card in never voided, not even by the Box and One card.
14.1.5) The Halfcourt Trap
gives the opposing Position a -1 drm if your own scoring die roll is higher
never voided. Are the scoring die rolls compared before or after other
drms are applied?
A.) It is the actual (unmodified) scoring die rolls which are compared to see if the -1 drm occurs.
14.1.6) Full Court Press
requires all scoring rolls of “3” or “4” to be rerolled. What qualifies as a “scoring roll”?
A.) “Scoring rolls” are the dice rolled against the Scoring Table. Bonus type rolls, such as from Hot Shooter, Fast Break, Double Team, etc. are not considered “scoring rolls”.
14.2.5) How is the "Key
Sixth Man" card used?
A.) If the Key Sixth Man is already played on a position which suffers a foul, it eliminates the effect of the foul during that resolution.
B.) If Key Sixth Man is played immediately after suffering a second foul, it can be used to prevent fouling out (though it would not affect the scoring resolution for that position). This tactic can be prevented if the player resolving the position immediately takes a Coaching Move to prevent the "immediate" response... The card cannot be played on a position that has already been resolved in that half.
C.) Key Sixth Man may be played on a position 'face-up' to remove a foul at that position, in which case, the Key Sixth Man card is discarded and the foul removed. However, this requires that there be a slot available - if there are already two cards on that position, the card cannot be played there unless one of the other cards is removed. Playing the Key Sixth Man card requires that the player use a normal move or coaching move, just as when normally playing any other card. However, playing the Key Sixth Man on a position and subsequently discarding it does not prevent the play of other cards on that position in that half; i.e. the limit is two cards on a position at a time, not a half.
14.2.6) Does the 4-point
bonus for "Clutch Free Throws" apply to an already existing
foul? To a foul that is immediately removed by a "Key Sixth
Man" or "Zone Defense"? To a foul that is negates by a
A.) No. Yes. No, unless the reroll also results in a foul on the opposing player.
14.2.9) Suppose I have a Second Shots card down, as well as a Controlling the Boards card on another position, while my opponent has Fast Break opposite my Second Shots. What happens to the Fast Break? The Second Shots card says Fast Break is doubled, while the Controlling the Boards card says Fast Break is voided.
A.) When something is voided, it doesn't matter if it is doubled. Twice zero is still zero. Another way of looking at it is if you first double the Fast Break, then void it, the result is zero points.
If you first void the Fast Break, there is nothing to double, so the result is still zero points.
& 14.3.7) Can a "Controlling The Boards" and "Boxing
Out" affect other positions before the position they are played on is
A.) Yes. No.
Last Updated April 17, 2015